Giving Up Is Insane!

Words of wisdom for writers–and anyone, really.

Triumph of the Spirit

medals-live-your-dream-never-give-up
In an earlier post I wrote about the gift of rejection, I urged writers to let professional rejection inspire them and make them even more determined to succeed. Angelo Pizzo, the filmmaker behind Hoosiers and Rudy, echoed this sentiment in the July 7, 2014 issue of Sports Illustrated.

Pizzo, who started his film career as an executive, never thought of himself as a writer until he decided to write the screenplay for Rudy himself. He wrote this about one producer’s reaction to his initial draft:

I finally finished the screenplay. I gave it to a producer, the man who gave me my first job out of film school. He read it on a flight, called me from the airport and said, “You just wasted a year of your life. This is irredeemable, hopeless, bad writing. Go back to development.” I was crushed.


Fortunately, Pizzo ran into another…

View original post 927 more words

Leave a Reply

